1641 Protestation List for Charmouth

The Protestation was an attempt to avert the English Civil War. In July 1641, Parliament passed a bill requiring those over the age of 18 to sign the Protestation, an oath of allegiance to King CharlesI and the Church of EnglandI I was drawn up on 3 May of that year. No one could hold a Church or state office without signing.
The speaker of the House of Commons sent a letter to sheriffs of each county. They and the Justices of the Peace had to take the Protestation. From there, each parish incumbent was to read the Protestation in church to his parishioners and have each one sign. This took place during February and March 1642, after which the returns were sent to Parliament. Those among the population who could not write marked a cross against their names. Those who did not wish to have their names used in support were also listed in the Protestation.

Samuel Norrington, Rector
John Geekly -Warden
William Hine-Warden
Josep Hassard -Overseer
x Mychaell Mynterne-Overseer
John Lymbry
Rob. Hassard
Edward Limbry
Henry Lymbry
Robert Cade
William Locke
Thomas Lalimore x
John Calley
Thomas Collingdon
William Hollard
Robert Speake
Thomas Grigory
Abraham Wood
William Rockey '
William Fillips
Henry Lush
Augustine Langjy
Henry Lymbry
William Balstone
Robert Tanner
William Hull
Jn° Ham
Thomas Carter
Jn° Turner
Peter Hamett
Nicolas Wotton
Rob. Gray
William Gray
Jn° Bartrom
John Colles
Marks Champe
John Gover
John Bonner
James Bondaige
Stephen Limbrie
Thomas Miller
Wiliam Lush
Edward Cox
Andrew Lymbry
John Hodder
Robert Waye
Willia Pady
Robert Hardy
Alexander Cornelius
Nicholas Follet
Nicholas Follet, junior.
Mathew Follet
George Lewse
John Follet
Hugh Marten
John Langly
Henry Smith
Barnead Clarck
Stephen Minson
Joseph Gray
Lawrence Atkins
George Dauie
Henery Hull
John Bishop
Willia Sampson
William Melpley
Marline Freeman
Philip Hoare ?
Robert Beall
Richard Shinner
Thomas Minson
George Wade
Robert Coward
Richard Coward
Abraham Graye
Hubert Hussy, Esq Justice of the peace